Charleston Vespa/motor scooter laws directly impact civil liability claims. If a victim operates a scooter in a manner that is not in-line with law, that decision could directly affect the outcome of any subsequent claim for damages—even when the victim was not responsible for the claim. To bolster your chances of a favorable courtroom outcome, choose to work with a dedicated personal injury lawyer.
Traffic Laws that Apply to Scooters
Motor scooter is a generic term. When someone adds certain attributes to their scooter, it becomes a motorcycle for the purposes of South Carolina law, regardless of whether they think it is a motorcycle.
The laws do change accordingly. Whether there is a rule that says the motorized vehicle must have pedals to be a moped and not a motor scooter or motorcycle, whatever determination is made, the person who buys the moped or motorcycle needs to understand what the vehicle is legally considered in South Carolina. Something that one considers a motor scooter could be a motorcycle if it checks all the boxes for a motorcycle per South Carolina laws.
Many times, when someone gets a new bike like a Vespa or something that is more of a high-speed vehicle, it may qualify as being a motorcycle regardless of what the driver believes. They should follow all the applicable laws and rules to get the proper licensing and insurance for it. The same thing is true with mopeds.
The speed at which the vehicle operates is one of the factors that determines which of the two categories the vehicle is in. Instead of trying to figure out what it might be, the dealer who sells the product understands what it is and could clearly communicate to them what they are riding. The individual needs to follow the rules and regulations that apply to their bike.
Distinct Motor Scooter Laws in Charleston
There are distinct motor scooter laws in South Carolina. If someone is driving a moped, they could be 15 years old and apply for a moped operator’s license. Different licenses in South Carolina have different classifications.
The classifications could change, so it is a good idea to consult with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles to understand the class of vehicle one is purchasing, and the class of license they need to operate the vehicle. When someone is 15 years old or older, they need to get a Class G license.
As with any type of driving test, the person takes a vision test and a knowledge test. Mopeds do not require a road test. If someone is under 16 and they have the moped license, they could ride it during daylight hours currently. They are not supposed to drive at night without someone licensed and 21 years or older.
The person needs to identify the current rules and follow them. Even when following the rules, accidents happen. When an accident happens that is someone else’s fault, they likely have a much stronger case if they are a compliant driver who is licensed properly, is in compliance with the law, and mitigated their injuries by wearing a helmet. Currently, these are the Charleston Vespa/motor scooter laws in place.
Learn More About Charleston Vespa/Motor Scooter Laws
What many people might not realize is that Charleston’s Vespa/motor scooter laws are not the same as motorcycle laws. Certain modifications to a scooter could classify a vehicle, in the eyes of the law, as a motorcycle. This could drastically affect a claim and how or if a victim could recover compensation from a negligent party. Reach out to an attorney to preserve your civil claim.